About Gluten Free Lager

About Gluten Free Lager
Brewed from non-gluten containing cereals such as rice, sorghum, buckwheat, and corn, these beers were originally brewed for the small, but growing portion of the population intolerant to gluten. Gluten-free lagers commonly range between 4-5.5% in alcohol with further variations depending on interpretations of the style. Celiac disease affects roughly 1% of the US population, thus completely removing beer brewed from barley, rye, and wheat from their diet. This category is not defined by style, but instead by the portion of gluten found in the beer. While any lager style may theoretically be brewed as a gluten-free beer, most lagers in this category closely resemble gluten-free interpretations of pale and amber lager styles. Noteworthy examples of this style include: Lakefront New Grist, Redbridge and Green’s Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager.

Top Picks for Gluten Free Lager

Damm Brewery Daura Damm Gluten-Free Lager
93 points
Light and refreshing, an impressive replacement for a standard barley malt beer that doesn't feel like it's sacrificing any quality or flavor.
Damm Brewery Daura Märzen Double Malt Gluten Free
93 points
$0
An estery, chewy, full-flavored Gluten-Free lager to be enjoyed by all, not just those avoiding gluten.
Otherwise Brewing Calrose Crisp Gluten-Free Rice Lager
85 points
Light yet complex; a medium body makes it a satisfying choice for a gluten free Lager.